Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Wii peripherals recalled over fire hazard

Wed 12 Aug 2009 10:20am GMT / 6:20am EDT / 3:20am PDT
Hardware

Burns to hand reported by users of Wiimote charging stations

Around 220,000 Wii peripherals sold in the US have been recalled due to posing a fire hazard and a danger to consumers.

The Psyclone Essentials and React Wii charging stations which can recharge up to four Wiimotes at a time have been voluntarily recalled, with the US Consumer Product Safety Commission reporting that "the battery pack can overheat, posing a burn or fire hazard to the consumer."

"Six incidents of overheating have been reported to the firm. Two consumers reported minor burns to the hand," detailed the CPSC.

The products were sold by Target, Toys R Us, Best Buy and Amazon, manufactured in China and distributed by Griffin International.

"Consumers should immediately stop using these recharge stations and contact Griffin International to obtain information on how to return the product and receive a free replacement," said the CPSC.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now