Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Wii surpasses Xbox 360 US sales

Thu 17 Jul 2008 10:00pm GMT / 6:00pm EDT / 3:00pm PDT
Retail

According to data released by the NPD Group, nearly 10.9 million Wii consoles have been sold since its 2006 launch

Nintendo has announced that, according to sales tracking information released today by the NPD Group, the Wii has now become the best-selling videogame console in the United States.

The NPD Group reported more than 666,000 Wii consoles sold for the month of June, with nearly 10.9 million Wii consoles sold in the US since its November 2006 launch twenty months ago.

"Wii was created with the goal of expanding the gaming universe through its intuitive motion-sensing controller," said Cammie Dunaway, Nintendo of America's executive VP of sales & marketing.

"As we have demonstrated this week during the E3 Media & Business Summit, Wii continues to pioneer new ways for people to interact with their video games and with one another."

Nintendo also noted that its DS was the top-selling system in June in the US, with more than 783,000 units sold. To date, more than 20.8 million Nintendo DS handhelds have been sold in the United States.

Six of June's top ten best-selling games were made for Nintendo systems - Guitar Hero On Tour, Wii Fit, Wii Play, Mario Kart Wii, LEGO Indiana Jones: The Original Adventures (Wii) and LEGO Indiana Jones: The Original Adventures (DS).

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now