Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Wii is least used current-gen console

Wed 08 Apr 2009 7:47am GMT / 3:47am EDT / 12:47am PDT
Hardware

Average usage similar to GameCube patterns, says survey of 17,000 households

Nintendo's Wii is the home console that sees the least amount of use in the US, according to new research by Nielsen.

In the company's State of the Video Gamer report for the month of December 2008, the Wii had an average usage of five days, compared to 6.8 for the PlayStation 3 and 7.1 days for the Xbox 360.

The average usage session clocks in at 58 minutes for Nintendo's home console, while the PlayStation 3 records 64 minutes and the Xbox 360 78 minutes.

The report also collected GameCube, original Xbox and PlayStation 2 data usage, finding that the Wii and GameCube show very similar patterns.

"Predominant users of the Wii and GameCube are likely to use these consoles at most once a week and for fewer minutes and the fewest number of sessions compared to the other two groups of consoles," noted the report.

The study also found that the largest demographic for PC gaming was the female gamer, aged 25 and over, and Microsoft's Solitaire is the most played game, with over 17 million players during the month.

The survey was conducted using data from over 17,000 US households, and the full report can be seen here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now