Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Wii gets BBC iPlayer

Wed 09 Apr 2008 1:08pm GMT / 9:08am EDT / 6:08am PDT
Online

Multiple BBC channels, TV shows and radio content available for Nintendo's home console

The BBC has announced that its BBCi Player will shortly be available on the Nintendo Wii console.

The BBCi Player offers users content from multiple BBC TV shows and channels, including News 24 and the BBC's radio stations.

"Working with Nintendo marks another exciting milestone for BBC iPlayer," commented Erik Huggers, group controller for Future Media and Technology at the BBC.

"It underlines our commitment to reaching new audiences by making BBC iPlayer available on as many platforms as possible.

"The BBC's catch-up TV service can now be accessed on an increasing number of different platforms - from the web and portable devices to gaming consoles. It will shortly be available on TV."

Last month the BBC rolled out the service to Apple's iPhone and the iPod Touch.

Although Wii owners currently have to pay a one off fee to install the Internet Channel, the BBC has said that it is looking at ways to make the iPlayer service free in the future.

"This exciting alliance with the BBC is yet another way in which Nintendo is looking to broaden the market for its products by offering compelling and relevant content to families," added David Yarnton, general manager of Nintendo UK.

"BBC iPlayer on Wii will offer Wii owners another reason to turn their console on everyday and adds to the already established non gaming content on Wii that includes news and weather channels and an internet browser."

1 Comment

Cassel Kroll
Account Supervisor

1 0 0.0
Is this only for the UK?

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now