Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Wii Fit sells 1m in Japan

Wed 09 Jan 2008 11:44am GMT / 6:44am EST / 3:44am PST

Nintendo's Wii Fit exercise package has sold one million units in Japan, in just over a month on sale.

Nintendo's Wii Fit exercise package has sold one million units in Japan, in just over a month on sale.

According to Nikkei, the hardware and software bundle reached the milestone on January 6, after being introduced to the market on December 1.

Wii Fit was first unveiled by Shigeru Miyamoto at E3 last year, and represents Nintendo's continued push to expand the industry beyond the traditional videogame market.

The package consists of the Wii Balance Board peripheral and software that simulates an exercise workout, using more than 40 types of training activities, as well as keeping track of a users BMI and other stats on a new Wii Channel.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now