Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Wii firmware casualties "small" - Nintendo

Fri 02 Oct 2009 3:20pm GMT / 11:20am EDT / 8:20am PDT
Hardware

Update affecting hardware following update to 4.2 firmware

Nintendo has told our sister site Eurogamer that UK Wii consoles broken by firmware update 4.2 will also be repaired free of charge, as in the US.

"We are aware of a very small number of reported problems with Wii consoles after updating to the Wii System Menu 4.2," said the platform holder in a statement.

"The symptoms described usually occur when a Wii console has been modified. However, there are a very small number of people reporting problems when a system has never been modified.

"If anyone is experiencing problems with their Wii console after downloading Wii System Menu 4.2, and believe their system has not been modified, please contact our customer service centre. If we find that you have a normal system and the update has caused your system to not work, we will repair it at no charge," added the statement. "Please do not return anything to our customer service department without contacting them first for advice."

The problem occurs during installation of firmware version 4.2, which reportedly crashes part-way through the update. The firmware was designed by Nintendo to clamp down on modders and the homebrew movement.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now