Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Wii drives Nintendo profits up 34 per cent

Wed 30 Jul 2008 8:09am GMT / 4:09am EDT / 1:09am PDT
Finance

5.17 million Wii units sold worldwide in past three months

Net profit at Nintendo has risen 34 per cent for the three months ended June 30, to JPY 107.2 billion (USD 990m), up from JPY 80.3 billion the previous year.

Sales for the period topped JPY 423.3 billion, up 24 per cent, with the company reporting sales of Wii hardware reached 5.17 million worldwide, pushing lifetime to date sales to 29.62 million.

Mario Kart Wii sold 6.42 million units worldwide during the three month period, while Wii Fit sold 3.42 million units.

Wii Sports and Wii Play continue to sell well, as total sales of Wii software for the quarter hit 40.41 million units, an increase of 24.42 million from the same period in 2007.

The company said in a statement that sales of the DS were "robust" in Europe and the US, but down in Japan, with a total of 6.94 million units worldwide, bringing lifetime to date sales for the handheld to 77.54 million.

Total sales of DS software, led by Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Darkness/Explorers of Time were 36.59 million units, up 2.33 million units year-on-year.

1 Comment

Jim Webb Executive Editor/Community Director, E-mpire Ltd. Co.

2,287 2,507 1.1
Matt, check your conversion rates. I think it's ~$990 million USD.

Posted:6 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now