Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Warner to publish Batman: Arkham Asylum sequel

Mon 14 Dec 2009 9:14am GMT / 4:14am EST / 1:14am PST
Publishing

Rocksteady Studios on board but Eidos misses out on comic book follow-up

A sequel to critical and commercial hit Batman: Arkham Asylum has been announced at the Spike Video Game Awards, with Warner Bros taking over the role of publisher from Eidos Interactive.

Both the trailer and an official press release names Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment as the sole publisher, with original developer Rocksteady Studios (who were named Studio of the Year at the Spike Awards) also on board.

Original publisher Eidos Interactive appear to have been squeezed out of the process though, the first game having been signed before the company's acquisition by Square Enix.

"We are thrilled to build a global game franchise from Batman: Arkham Asylum, which is receiving an incredible response from gamers and fans of Batman around the world," said Martin Tremblay, president of Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment. "Rocksteady has taken Batman to a new level in the videogame space and we are committed to delivering a sequel the fans will love."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now