Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Warner is sole bidder for Midway

Mon 29 Jun 2009 7:18am GMT / 3:18am EDT / 12:18am PDT
Business

Auction for bankrupt publisher called off as Tigon claims $200,000 for unpaid Wheelman fees

Warner Bros. has emerged as the only bidder for bankrupt publisher Midway Games.

Midway had put itself up for auction hoping to get a higher asking price than the USD 33 million Warner had offered, but no other offers had been received by last Wednesday's deadline.

"No other bids came in, so there's not going to be an auction," confirmed Midway's spokesman, Geoff Mogilner, to the LA Times.

A Chicago investment company and several other publishers had been interested in the auction, according to the report.

The LA Times also noted that Vin Diesel's Tigon Studios is claiming Midway owes it USD 200,000 for work on the recently released Wheelman game, and this, along with Larry Kasanoff's lawsuit over the Mortal Kombat rights, need to be addressed before any sale can go ahead.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now