Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Warcraft boosts sales, profit for NetEase

Thu 20 May 2010 7:59am GMT / 3:59am EDT / 12:59am PDT
Emerging MarketsFinance

Chinese operator to push Blizzard title further into China

Blizzard's World of Warcraft has boosted NetEase for the first quarter of the financial year ended March 31, pushing up sales and profits for the Chinese operator.

The company announced profits of RMB 452.3 million ($66.3 million), compared to RMB 416.7 million in 2009, and revenues of RMB 1.2 billion ($175.1 million), up from RMB 781.7 million the prior year.

"For the first quarter, total revenues from online games increased by approximately 50 per cent year-over-year, primarily due to revenues generated from new games and the operation of Blizzard Entertainment's World of Warcraft," said William Ding, CEO of NetEase.

"We are currently testing ways to expand the game's presence in certain second and third-tier cities in China. Our application for the launch of Blizzard Entertainment's Wrath of the Lich King, the game's second expansion set, is currently under regulatory review," he added.

Advertising revenues was also up for 50 per cent for the quarter, with Ding adding that registrations and portal traffic also grew during the period.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now