Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Wal-Mart launches new Gamecenter site

Fri 21 May 2010 8:38am GMT / 4:38am EDT / 1:38am PDT
Retail

Site to offer previews and other content as well as online store; launches with $50 eGift card

Wal-Mart has launched a new online destination complete with game previews, first-look exclusives and money off for customers ordering through its store.

Named the Wal-Mart Gamecenter, the site has launched with a $50 discount offer to customers pre-ordering three or more games.

"Walmart Gamecenter combines incredible savings with exclusive gaming content all in a compelling and interactive experience online," said Kelly Thompson, VP of merchandising for Walmart.com.

"Gaming enthusiasts will be drawn in by the exclusive content and developer interviews, while moms will appreciate the special savings only Walmart can offer on the hottest video game titles."

The Gamecenter will feature new games, content and special offers every month, said the company, while countdown clocks will tick off the days until the most anticipated titles go on sale.

Customers can also trade in games and unwanted games consoles online with Wal-Mart. The retailer pays the shipping costs for trade-ins and credits the consumer with Wal-Mart Visa card points.

GameStop CEO Dan DeMatteo questioned the sustainability of Gamecenter during a earnings call on Thursday, however.

"The answer on the Wal Mart - I'm not sure about the sustainability," he said. "They announced the program to launch their new interactive site or website on that, so Iím not sure how long they plan on doing that.

"As I said before, we think our unique advantages in our in store release marketing, ability to trade and get the immediate currency etc., is something that has allowed us to continue to gain market."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now