Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Wal-Mart enters used games business

Tue 19 May 2009 7:26am GMT / 3:26am EDT / 12:26am PDT
Retail

Major US retailer begins test-marketing used game kiosks with partner e-Play

Major US retailer Wal-Mart has entered the used games market by test-marketing an automated game trade-in kiosk.

The kiosks are currently being tested in 77 Wal-Mart locations in the eastern United States. According to kiosk partner e-Play's website, participants sell games by directly inserting a game disc into the machine, and receive trade-in money directly to their credit or debit card within 2-3 business days.

For now, trade-in prices are determined by e-Play through what the company describes as a proprietary algorithm that can change frequently, according to a Kotaku report.

Wal-Mart is a chain of department stores that is one of the largest game retailers in the US. Last year it was named the top US games retailer by IGN.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now