Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Volition loses QA staff in THQ cull

Wed 04 Mar 2009 9:03am GMT / 4:03am EST / 1:03am PST
Development

86 employees made redundant at Saints Row developer

Red Faction and Saints Row developer Volition has let 86 QA staff go as part of THQs wider cutbacks.

Confirming the numbers to Kotaku, the developer stated that 47 temporary employees and 39 full-time staff are affected.

"Today we notified 86 of the 102 employees in the Volition quality assurance department that they will be let go," said a spokesperson.

"Our quality assurance will now be primarily conducted through THQ's centralised QA facilities, with a small staff remaining on-site in Champaign. It's important to note that this is not a new reduction, but part of the scheduled lay-offs announced during our last earnings call," said the firm.

In February, THQ detailed plans to axe 600 jobs across the company as losses climbed to USD 192 million.

Last week the publisher closed its international business in Europe.

"All laid off employees (both full-time and temporary) will be given at least sixty days' notice," said THQ of the Volition staff. "We will do what we can to assist them in finding work in the community or elsewhere in THQ."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now