Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Vista games cracked to run on XP

Tue 26 Jun 2007 2:28pm GMT / 10:28am EDT / 7:28am PDT

Shadowrun and Halo 2 - the first champions of Windows Vista gaming - have already been cracked by 'warez' and hacking groups, with patches enabling both to function on Windows XP available.

Shadowrun and Halo 2 - the first champions of Windows Vista gaming - have already been cracked by 'warez' and hacking groups, with patches enabling both to function on Windows XP available.

Both games have been released as Vista exclusives in recent weeks, introducing an Xbox Live-style service to PC gamers.

The news that the games will run on XP won't come as much of a surprise to close observers after Falling Leaf Systems boldly claimed in May that it planned to offer compatibility software for both games "within a few months".

At the time, CEO Brian Thomason wrote: "First [Microsoft] claim that it was impossible to implement DirectX 10 compatibility atop Windows XP, and now they also want us to believe that they couldnāt successfully launch two DirectX 9 based titles on XP either. We plan to expose both theories as patently false."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now