Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

User-generated content future of videogames, says Fils-Aime

Fri 14 Nov 2008 11:03am GMT / 6:03am EST / 3:03am PST
Publishing

Games industry ideally positioned to take advantage of new interactive media, says Nintendo of America CEO

Reggie Fils-Aime, Nintendo of America's CEO, has said the company will focus on user-generated content as the future of interactive entertainment.

Speaking at the BMO Interactive Entertainment conference, Fils-Aime talked of the end of "passive entertainment" and explained how videogames were ideally positioned to take advantage of this.

"If you're in the entertainment business, any kind of entertainment, this is the game changer because no longer is entertainment a one way street of content created for audiences that just sit back and absorb it," Fils-Aime said. "The era of passive entertainment is waning, active entertainment is where the action is."

"Entertainment consumers are moving from react to interact," he added. "Now fortunately form the start this shift has worked to the advantage of everyone at videogames. It is who we are… Videogames have always been at the front lines of active entertainment and its revolution."

He went on to underline Nintendo's past and future focus on user-generated content, going as far to quote, Nintendo president, Satoru Iwata, saying: "We believe that building a foundations where players' creativity is harnessed and the results are shared is becoming increasingly important."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now