Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

US spent record $5 billion on games in December

Fri 16 Jan 2009 6:41am GMT / 1:41am EST / 10:41pm PST
Retail

Wii and DS lead sales, Microsoft notches up another 1.4m consoles, PlayStation 3 sales drop compared to previous year

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

US consumers spent USD 5 billion on games, hardware and associated peripherals in December, according to the latest data from NPD.

The month recorded the highest revenues of any other month in videogame history, up 9 per cent year-on-year. Sales for 2008 overall were up 19 per cent, to USD 21.33 billion.

Nintendo products were once again the most popular on the market – 3.04 million DS handhelds were sold during the month, along with 2.15 million Wii consoles.

Microsoft sold 1.44 million Xbox 360's in the region during December, up from the 1.26 million units sold during December 2007.

Sony's PlayStation 3 sold 726,000 units, a decline compared to the same period last year, when it moved 798,000 consoles.

The PlayStation Portable is Sony's strongest hardware, with 1.02 million units sold in December, while the PlayStation 2 sold a further 410,000 units.

  • Nintendo DS - 3.04 million
  • Wii - 2.15 million
  • Xbox 360 - 1.44 million
  • PSP - 1.02 million
  • PlayStation 3 - 726,000
  • PlayStation 2 - 410,000

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now