Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

US PSP sales up 300 per cent

Thu 08 Oct 2009 7:17am GMT / 3:17am EDT / 12:17am PDT
RetailHardware

Significant boost in first three days of sale for new hardware; PlayStation Store sales also up 200 per cent

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony Computer Entertainment America has revealed that sales of the PSP in the region rose 300 per cent in the three days following the launch of the PSPgo.

As well as an increase in hardware numbers, game downloads via the PlayStation Store also climbed 200 per cent, according to corporate communications director Patrick Seybold.

"The launch of PSPgo has generated strong consumer interest in the overall PSP platform and the PlayStation Network's digital content offering," he told Gamasutra.

"With several blockbuster games launching digitally and on UMD in the coming weeks - from LittleBigPlanet to Assassin's Creed Bloodlines - we expect this momentum to continue and look forward to a strong holiday season for both the PSPgo and PSP-3000."

Sony Europe said earlier this week that sales of the PSP hardware were up 120 per cent following the launch of new hardware, although retail partners such as ShopTo and Chips have been disappointed with sales due to a high price and no physical software.

In the UK, major retailers began discounting the hardware almost immediately after release, selling the PSPgo for 199.99, rather than the 224.99 asking price.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now