Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Uncharted 2, Modern Warfare 2 nominated for Writer's Guild award

Fri 15 Jan 2010 10:15am GMT / 5:15am EST / 2:15am PST
EventsDevelopment

Five games under consideration for third annual awards are named

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 and Assassin's Creed II are among the games nominated for this year's Writers' Guild of America videogame writing award.

Also nominated in the year's line-up is Bethesda game Wet, and Activision's X-Men Origins: Wolverine.

The specific games writing category was introduced by the guild two years ago, and has, to date, been given to the writers of LucasArts' Star Wars: The Force Unleashed and Dead Head Fred.

Its implementation was made to "encourage storytelling excellence in videogames, to improve the status of writers, and to begin to encourage uniform standards within the gaming industry," said the WGA.

As writers are rapidly becoming more central players in this medium, the Guilds were working to bring more videogame projects under their jurisdiction to ensure writers received the benefits of a WGA contract, it added.

The awards this year were open to games released between December 1, 2008 and November 30, 2009. Winners will be announced on February 20 at a Writers' Guild Award ceremony to be held simultaneously in Los Angeles and New York.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now