Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

UK videogames revenue 44% higher than films

Mon 04 Jan 2010 8:55am GMT / 3:55am EST / 12:55am PST
Business

Interactive media outperforms Box Office, despite UK cinema enjoying best year in three decades

GfK Chart-Track

‘Chart-Track Ltd’ took over Gallup’s chart contracts in March 1996. The company was formed by the ex-Gallup...

chart-track.co.uk

Revenues from the UK's videogames industry hit GBP 1.73 billion (USD 2.8 billion) in the 12 months to the end of September 2009, according to figures from GfK Chart-Track - more than 70 per cent higher the Box Office, which UK Film Council numbers posted at GBP 1 billion (USD 1.6 billion) in the same period.

That's despite cinemas in the country enjoying their best performance for almost 30 years, reports The Telegraph.

GBP 198 million was spent on film titles on DVD and Blu-ray, bringing the medium's total up to just under GBP 1.2 billion (USD 1.9 billion) - meaning that games outperformed films overall by over 44 per cent.

That means that only television - including the sale of DVD boxed sets, the TV license and satellite subscriptions - made more money.

"Like anything digital, Parliament has a very narrow view of videogames," said Labour MP Tom Watson, who welcomed the news. "Too many politicians think video games are played by teenage boys staying up all night shooting things in their bedroom.

"And yes there are plenty of those, but there also a huge range of people of many different ages who love playing games. The industry has matured over the last decade, and so too have gamers."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now