Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

UK industry to introduce traffic light ratings system

Wed 29 Oct 2008 8:31am GMT / 4:31am EDT / 1:31am PDT
Publishing

ELSPA acknowledges flaws in PEGI system, new symbols designed to be easily understood

The games industry in the UK is to introduce a new traffic lights-style ratings system for videogames.

Acknowledging that the current PEGI system is flawed, the new green, orange and red symbols are designed to be easily understood by consumers at a glance.

"The industry has responded to observations made by Dr Tanya Byron in her report that there is a lack of consumer awareness of the PEGI rating symbols," said ELSPA in a statement.

"The industry feels that by employing a traffic light system that is simple to understand it will be effective in combating any confusion previously felt by consumers."

ELSPA has not detailed when the system will come into effect, or whether the PEGI imagery will be dropped from packaging entirely.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now