Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft: We want 10% market share

Fri 13 Nov 2009 11:39am GMT / 6:39am EST / 3:39am PST
BusinessPublishing

Publisher puts number on short term ambition which it wants to hit "quickly"

Ubisoft's CEO, Yves Guillemot, has told the BMO Capital Markets Digital Entertainment Conference that the company is chasing a market share of 10 per cent, a figure it believes it can hit "quickly".

The publisher's slice currently stands at 6 per cent, but Guillemot believes that its three-pronged approach can grow that number.

"We have lots of innovations and initiatives that will come in the next few years," he said. "We're working on three segments: Present and future consoles; online and social networks; and also on entertainment convergence.

"Let's start with present and future consoles. Our business today is USD 24 billion - we have many opportunities to gain market share, because we have around 6 per cent now, and our goal is to quickly go to around 10 per cent in this industry.

He went on to explain, mirroring the company's recent investor call, that the market share jump could be achieved by entering new genres, growing existing franchises and leveraging the new hardware - such as Microsoft's Natal - coming to the market.

Ubisoft has had a relatively quiet year to-date, but is expecting strong performances from Assassin's Creed II, released next week, and Avatar, released at the beginning of December.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now