Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft: We still support the PSP

Tue 10 Jun 2008 11:44am GMT / 7:44am EDT / 4:44am PDT
Publishing

Publisher reveals plans to publish 12 titles for the format this fiscal year

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Ubisoft has told GamesIndustry.biz that it still considers the PlayStation Portable as an important platform in the current videogames market.

"By way of further clarifying some recent statements made in the press, Ubisoft wants to reaffirm that it strongly supports the PSP, which holds a unique place in the market, addressing dedicated gamers and offering unprecedented power in a portable console," a spokesperson explained.

The statement comes after a GamesIndustry.biz interview last week with UK managing director Rob Cooper, in which he called for more direction from Sony with regard to its plans for the handheld.

However, while Sony Computer Entertainment Europe's own boss David Reeves recently admitted to GamesIndustry.biz that the platform did need more games, Ubisoft is keen to stress that it is looking to answer that call.

"We support the PSP with innovative game experiences and plan to publish around 12 PSP games this fiscal year, including titles for some of our top-selling brands."

Although sales of the PSP have fallen away in Europe, the platform continues to perform strongly in Japan, with lifetime sales of 9.5 million units and 2008 sales of almost 2 million, according to Media Create.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now