Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft to open Singapore studio

Tue 12 Feb 2008 3:45pm GMT / 10:45am EST / 7:45am PST

Ubisoft has announced plans to open its eighteenth internal development studio, this time in Singapore

Ubisoft has announced plans to open its eighteenth internal development studio, this time in Singapore.

Strong government support of the expansion was said to be a factor in selecting the location.

"Singapore's demonstrated interest and support for the videogame industry made it a clear choice for Ubisoft's continued international expansion," said Christine Burgess-QuĂmard, the company's executive director of worldwide studios.

"Not only is it capable of ensuring the training and continued development of a highly skilled workforce specialised in interactive digital media, its quality of life and level of industrialisation makes it uniquely positioned to attract and retain talent from throughout the region."

Olivier de Rotalier, who has served for the past four years as the company's director of cost control for its international production studios, has been appointed managing director of the new studio. Ubisoft already has two development studios in China.

When fully staffed, the new Singapore studio is expected to employ up to 300 people. It will be working with other Ubisoft studios on console and portable game development.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now