Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft to add 120 to Romanian studios

Thu 04 Dec 2008 8:29am GMT / 3:29am EST / 12:29am PST
BusinessPublishing

Publisher aims to hit 1000 employees in the region by the middle of 2009

Ubisoft is to continue to ramp up its development teams in Romania between now and the middle of 2009, adding a further 120 people to the 650 already there to its offices in Bucharest and Craiova.

The move continues the company's strategy established earlier this year, and contrasts with other major publishers - Electronic Arts and THQ among them - that have cut projects and staff as part of attempts to refocus their businesses.

According to Financiarul.ro 75 people will be hired to Bucharest, with a further 51 people added in Craiova, bringing Ubisoft Romania close to its target of 800, and the overall Eastern Europe figure of 1000.

The MD of Ubisoft Eastern Europe, Sebastinen Delen, added that so far the economic conditions hadn't impacted the region.

"During this period, people have not travelled a lot, have not made investments, have not consumed a lot. Instead of all this, they have stayed at home and played videogames. We expect the local videogame market to keep growing next year," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now