Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft ramping up for new generation of consoles in 2012

Thu 22 Jan 2009 6:35pm GMT / 1:35pm EST / 10:35am PST
Publishing

French publisher has also acquired new sports property, and looking for new tech and brands

Ubisoft has said that it expects a new generation of home consoles to be on the market by 2012.

The French publisher is increasing headcount to work on future technology, with mergers also on the cards to increase development and technology resources.

"We want to take advantage of a company that could bring more technology to us, or new brands," said CEO Yves Guillemot.

"So we have now enough to help us to grow the company for not only next year but to get ready for the coming of the next generation consoles that are probably going to happen 2011, 2012.

"We have to be ready for that, we are already hiring people and buying some technology and looking at some brands as well," he revealed.

And following major success with new IP Shaun White's Snowboarding, Guillemot confirmed the company will soon announce the acquisition of a new sports property to increase Ubisoft's standing in the genre.

"It's really an achievement for us and it's helping us to consider that it's possible to take some share of that business," said Guillemot of the success in the sports market.

"And we will soon announce that we will make a little bit of a merger and acquisition on that front. It's a small one but it will show you that we want to invest more in that direction," he added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now