Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft partners with Virgin Gaming for online tournaments

Wed 04 Aug 2010 8:38am GMT / 4:38am EDT / 1:38am PDT
BusinessOnline

Ghost Recon: Future Soldier becomes first title in Branson's new gaming venture

Virgin Gaming has partnered with French publisher Ubisoft to provide the company's online multiplayer tournaments.

The first title to be part of the deal will be squad-combat title Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier.

"Ubisoft is one of the leading videogame publishers in the world and we are thrilled to offer our members the opportunity to compete in some of their best multiplayer console games," said Virgin Gaming CEO Rob Segal.

"Virgin Gaming is a unique convergence of social networking, videogames and competitive gaming, and we are excited that Ubisoft shares our vision for the platform and its potential," he added.

Virgin Gaming unveiled its plans to host cash-tournaments for publishers at this year's E3, announcing that over $1 million (627,235) in prizes would be given away during the first 12 months of the tournaments taking place.

"Ubisoft is thrilled to be partnering with Virgin Gaming on its new venture. We have an exciting lineup of multiplayer titles this year that we believe will be a perfect fit for gamers to play and compete against each other in a tournament setting," said president of Ubisoft North America, Laurent Detoc.

Currently, Virgin Gaming's pricing structure results in 88 per cent of the fees paid to take part in a cash tournament being paid as prizes to the winners - the remaining 12 per cent is retained by Virgin as a management fee.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now