Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft awarded Avatar rights

Tue 24 Jul 2007 6:32pm GMT / 2:32pm EDT / 11:32am PDT

Game to be released alongside film in 2009

Ubisoft announced that it has been granted the videogame rights to James Cameron's upcoming Avatar film.

"Ubisoft is excited to partner with 20th Century Fox and James Cameron on this important project," said Yves Guillemot, Ubisoft's CEO. "Avatar's rich scenario, onscreen action and special effects will provide a wealth of inspiration to create a unique interactive experience."

Avatar marks the first movie directed by James Cameron since 1997's Titanic. The filmmaker also directed Aliens, The Abyss, True Lies, The Terminator, and Terminator 2: Judgment Day.

Ubisoft was one of several videogame publishers vying for the Avatar rights.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now