Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Twitter, Facebook for Xbox 360 restricted to over 18's

Mon 09 Nov 2009 11:29am GMT / 6:29am EST / 3:29am PST
OnlinePublishing

But Microsoft working on update to allow access to services via parental controls

Microsoft has confirmed that Twitter, Facebook and Last.fm will all be limited to Xbox Live Gold users aged 18 and over for the time being.

Xbox exec Larry Hryb explained the move was to ensure online safety, but assured users that his team were currently working on an update to the Xbox 360 that will eventually allow parents to control access to the services via the console's Family Settings.

"We made this decision because as it stands now, parents arenít able to use Family Settings to customise which of these applications their children can access. In order to offer an age-appropriate environment for everyone, we decided to turn off these applications for those Gold members under the age of 18," he said.

"We want to make sure everyone was aware, however, that the development team is working on an update that gives parents the choice of which social applications their children can access.

"This means that Xbox Live members between the ages of 13 and 17 will be able to use Facebook, Twitter and Last.fm as long as their parents approve. The team hope to roll this out several weeks after launch and I will update you on the exact date as it gets closer," detailed Hryb.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now