Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Turbine opens new studio with help from ex-Flagship team

Mon 13 Oct 2008 3:54pm GMT / 11:54am EDT / 8:54am PDT
Development

West Coast outfit to bring new titles and technology to the business

Lord of the Rings Online developer Turbine has opened a new studio in California with the help of two executives from the recently closed Flagship Studios.

Former Flagship co-founder David Brevik takes the role of creative director at the new Turbine business and Jeff Lind, ex-Ping0 and responsible for the online platform at Flagship, joins as engineering director.

Matt McKnight also joins the team as studio director, with the new outfit charged with bringing new titles to market and expanding Turbine's existing platforms and technology.

"The opening of our West coast studio is a major milestone in Turbine’s long-term growth plans as it allows us to complement the outstanding talent we have on the East coast with the pool of extraordinary  talent available on the West coast," commented Jim Crowley, president of Turbine.

"Turbine is fast becoming the place to be for those looking to create the new generation of cross platform MMOs. We are delighted that Dave, Jeff and Matt have joined us in this effort and we look forward to further announcements as we continue to expand this team."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now