Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Trion raises $30 million in funding

Mon 09 Jul 2007 8:33pm GMT / 4:33pm EDT / 1:33pm PDT

Trion World Network announced that it has secured USD 30 million in the latest round of venture capitalist funding.

Trion World Network announced that it has secured USD 30 million in the latest round of venture capitalist funding.

Rustic Canyon Partners, Time Warner, GE/NBC's Peacock Equity Fund, and Bertelsmann Digital Media Investments led the latest round of funding.

"Receiving the backing of three of the world's top five media companies and three top VCs is an exceptional endorsement and provides Trion with unrivaled access and support that further strengthens our unique position in defining the future of connected games and entertainment," commented Lars Buttler, CEO and co-founder of Trion.

Trion, which was formed in 2006, plans to use the additional funding and relationships with the new media partners to develop and publish connected games and entertainment franchises.

Nate Redmond, a partner at Rustic Canyon, will join Trion's board. "Trion is uniquely positioned to define the future standard for dynamic games and entertainment across connected devices, by leveraging innovative technologies to build premium content channels around live programming," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now