Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Tony Hawk Ride to ship with skateboard peripheral

Mon 18 May 2009 6:55am GMT / 2:55am EDT / 11:55pm PDT
Games

Activision announces next title in the long-running franchise will include a new skateboard controller

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision has announced Tony Hawk Ride, the next game in the Tony Hawk franchise, will ship with a skateboard peripheral controller.

The announcement comes by way of an official website and game trailer launched on Friday. The game is being developed by Robomodo, confirming its rumoured involvement from earlier this year. Also involved in an unknown capacity is Buzz Monkey Software, the studio that developed the Wii and PlayStation 2 versions of last year's Tomb Raider: Underworld.

The skateboard peripheral appears to be both touch and motion sensitive, and has a number of buttons on its side. Players interact with the board by placing it flat on the ground and shifting their weight as if riding a real skateboard.

"The board controller is a marvel of new technology," Hawk said in a Twitter post. "Responds like a real skateboard, you can even go for grabs and the sensors detect it."

Developer Robomodo was founded last year by veterans of EA's now-closed Chicago studio, which was responsible for the Fight Night and Def Jam series.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now