Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

TimeGate Studios wins trademark dispute

Mon 21 Apr 2008 1:10pm GMT / 9:10am EDT / 6:10am PDT
Development

TV broadcaster ABC agrees to refrain from using the name Section 8

ABC and developer TimeGate Studios have settled their trademark dispute over the title Section 8.

The US TV broadcaster backed down from plans to use the name in an upcoming sci-fi show after legal action was launched over trademark infringement by TimeGate. The Texas based developers, behind FEAR: Perseus Mandate and FEAR: Extraction Point, had planned to use the title for an FPS currently in development.

"Protecting one's intellectual property rights is paramount in the entertainment business and it's no different at TimeGate," said Adel Chaveleh, TimeGate's CEO.

"With an amicable resolution to this issue in hand, we can continue our focus on making Section 8 an incredible and unforgettable first person shooter experience," he added.

The title Section 8 refers to US military regulations for discharging an officer for the reason of being mentally unfit.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now