Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Tiga responds to HSBC business report

Thu 04 Jun 2009 9:25am GMT / 5:25am EDT / 2:25am PDT
PoliticsTIGA NewsBusiness

Trade association calls for tax credits once again as bank encourages creative investments

TIGA

TIGA is the trade association representing the UKs games industry. The majority of our members are...

tiga.org

Tiga has again called for tax credits for UK developers, as the trade association responds to a report by the HSBC bank entitled The future of business: the changing face of business in 21st century Britain.

"HSBC is right to identify the UK videogames sector as a success and an industry with the potential to be one of the country's most renowned industries," said Tiga CEO Richard Wilson.

"If the UK is to continue to be an outrider for the videogames sector then the government must create an environment in which the sector can flourish. The government must create a tax system that encourages investment in research and development and investment into knowledge intensive industries, including the games industry," he continued.

"The UK must increase the supply of well educated and trainable people with degrees or the vocational equivalent in computer science, programming, design, animation and art: our videogames industry needs a skilled workforce to compete successfully. Universities and developers need to work more closely together, not least on collaborative research projects," he added.

Wilson also quotes independent Tiga research which shows that 48 per cent of developers in the UK have been in business for six years or more. A total of 60 per cent of individuals are qualified to degree level, rising to 80 per cent and above in some firms. 86 per cent of developers work flexible hours and 46 per cent of developer turnover is generated from game exports.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now