Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Tiga: "Playing field continues to be tipped against UK developers"

Mon 19 May 2008 11:27am GMT / 7:27am EDT / 4:27am PDT
Politics

Wilson says UK government needs to react following recent tax cuts in the US

TIGA

TIGA is the trade association representing the UKs games industry. The majority of our members are...

tiga.org

Tiga has called on the UK government to grant incentives to the British gaming industry or face losing out against foreign rivals, following the announcement of Georgia's 2008 Entertainment Industry Investment Act.

The US state's act allows productions to benefit from a 20 per cent tax credit, with a further 10 per cent available should the product feature an animated Georgia logo. Tiga's CEO, Richard Wilson, argues that this creates an unfair environment for games development in the UK and has asked the government to respond accordingly.

"Georgia's introduction of games development tax breaks illustrates once again that other state and national governments are competing to create the most hospitable environment for games production," said Wilson.

"If the UK Government wants to see a thriving video games industry in this country, then it must create a more favourable taxation system, keep the regulatory burden on business relatively light and work to increase the supply of suitably qualified graduates."

"The UK games development sector continues to be a world beating industry, but we cannot afford to ignore the heavily subsidised competition. The playing field continues to be tipped against UK games developers. Our position as a leading player in the development of video games is at stake," Wilson added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now