Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Three Wii units sold for every PlayStation 3 in Japan

Mon 03 Sep 2007 9:37am GMT / 5:37am EDT / 2:37am PDT

The latest Enterbrain figures have revealed that the Wii continues to outsell the PS3 in Japan by a healthy margin - but it seems the gap between the two consoles is beginning to narrow.

The latest Enterbrain figures have revealed that the Wii continues to outsell the PS3 in Japan by a healthy margin - but it seems the gap between the two consoles is beginning to narrow.

Bloomberg reports that in the four weeks ending August 26 Nintendo sold 245,653 Wii units, bringing the total now sold in the region to just over 3.4 million.

The figure for PS3 stood at 81,541 units, pushing lifetime sales past the 1.1 million mark. Just 11,288 Xbox 360 consoles were sold, with lifetime sales now at 442,290.

Wii outsold PS3 by 3 to 1 during August, but the ratio was 4 to 1 the previous month and 6 to 1 in May and June.

Between July and August Wii sales fell by 38 per cent, while Xbox 360 was down 37 per cent. The number of PlayStation 3 units sold dropped by 11 per cent.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now