Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ snaps up Big Huge Games

Tue 15 Jan 2008 8:56am GMT / 3:56am EST / 12:56am PST

THQ has announced that it has reached an agreement to acquire Big Huge Games, and expects to close the deal shortly.

THQ has announced that it has reached an agreement to acquire Big Huge Games, and expects to close the deal shortly.

The developer, best known for the Rise of Nations titles and founded by Brian Reynolds, Jason Coleman, Dave Inscore and Tim Train, will retain its staff and structure, but will use the opportunity to refocus its resources on creativity.

According to a report on MSN Money, Train - chief operating officer of Big Huge Games - reasoned: "Part of you has to be running the business and maintaining relationships with publishers. That takes up a lot of bandwidth and energy we think is better put toward making great games."

The deal came about following a year of work that's already been put into the companies' partnership on the Ken Rolston-led role-playing title announced last February and due some time in 2009.

Train stated his belief that off the back of that collaboration, "this deal with THQ makes a lot of sense" and that the team has "a lot of cool ideas we're excited to develop."

THQ's executive vice president of worldwide studios, Jack Sorensen, added that he felt Big Huge Games was "a good fit" for the publisher, and would help "fill in gaps we perceive in our portfolio."

THQ's share price at the close of the markets yesterday was USD 25.33, but may show some reaction to the news - announced after trading - today.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now