Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ signs new deal with Marvel

Thu 08 May 2008 11:40am GMT / 7:40am EDT / 4:40am PDT
Business

The publisher has obtained the exclusive rights to the Marvel Super Hero Squad brand

THQ has signed a deal with Marvel to develop games based on the child friendly Marvel Super Hero Squad toy figurines.

The initial game is set to be released in 2009 and, as part of the agreement, THQ has secured the exclusive rights to develop games for the brand on all formats.

"Marvel is one of the true crown jewels in the entertainment industry and we are thrilled at the prospect of both building the Marvel Super Hero Squad brand and further developing our relationship with Marvel," said Brian Farrell, president and CEO of THQ.

"We are dedicated to expanding our unmatched success story in the kids space and this agreement with Marvel is an excellent complement to our portfolio."

Marvel Entertainment has similar deals in pace with other publishers, such as SEGA who holds the videogame rights for The Incredible Hulk, Thor and Captain America, and Activision with the Marvel: Ultimate Alliance franchise.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now