Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ culls staff at Rainbow Studios and Sandblast Games

Wed 30 Apr 2008 7:49am GMT / 3:49am EDT / 12:49am PDT
BusinessDevelopment

Layoffs follow publisher's decision to cancel titles and franchises in January

THQ has laid off a number of staff at two of its internal development teams, Rainbow Studios and Sandblast Games, according to a report.

Gamasutra suggests that around 30 members of Rainbow Studios have lost their jobs. The team were working on an unannounced title which is still in development with a reduced team.

An unspecified number of staff have also been laid off at Sandblast, but it's expected the outfit will continue to work on the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 game Destroy All Humans! Path of the Furon.

At the beginning of the year, THQ announced that it had cancelled a number of games in development, both announced and unannounced, including the PS3 version of Frontlines: Fuel of War and Destroy All Humans! Big Willy Unleashed for the PS2.

It also said it would no longer be pursing titles in the Juiced and Stuntman franchises.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now