Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ confirms lay-offs at Big Huge Games

Thu 02 Apr 2009 7:22am GMT / 3:22am EDT / 12:22am PDT
Development

But publisher still seeking sale of internal studio

Big Huge Games

We exist to create best-in-class games with broad commercial and critical appeal in an environment that...

bighugegames.com

THQ has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that it has let a number of staff go at internal studio Big Huge Games, although it declined to give exact numbers.

Last month the publisher said it was seeking a sale of the Rise of Nations developer, otherwise it would be forced to close the studio.

"We continue to pursue a sale of Big Huge Games," a THQ spokesperson said.

"Yesterday, some of the staff were notified that they were not going to be part of the future direction of the studio. We are not providing exact headcounts at this time," added the company.

THQ has already released two other development studios – Heavy Iron and Incinerator – allowing them to continue as independent studios.

The publisher only acquired Rise of Nations developer Big Huge Games just over a year ago, and at the time said it planned to staff up and grow the business.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now