Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ axes International business

Thu 26 Feb 2009 11:32am GMT / 6:32am EST / 3:32am PST
BusinessPublishing

Zurich office shuts down after one year of operation, with 10 posts lost

THQ has closed down its International office in Zurich as part of the overall plan to restructure the business and cut 600 posts, first announced earlier this month.

GamesIndustry.biz understands that the closure of the office, which was only open for around a year, will result in ten jobs being lost in the financial planning and operations areas.

The International office was originally intended to work on future expansion plans for the publisher, but wasn't linked to any specific territory.

Losses there add to cuts already announced in THQ Wireless and some associated studios, while GamesIndustry.biz understands that around 20 posts at THQ Australia have also be made redundant.

The publisher released the much-anticipated Dawn of War II for the PC platform last week, while the company's share price hit its lowest point in over a decade as it closed at USD 2.24.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now