Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

The Sims 3 sells 1.4 million units in first week

Wed 10 Jun 2009 6:55am GMT / 2:55am EDT / 11:55pm PDT
Retail

Title sets EA PC launch record, despite heavy piracy two weeks prior to debut

Electronic Arts has announced that The Sims 3, the newest major entry in its popular simulation franchise, has sold 1.4 million units in its first week.

The sales figure combines both the Windows and Mac SKUs. According to EA, this is the best-selling PC launch in the publisher's history. EA also announced that it has recorded over 7 million downloads of player created content in the same week.

"With more than a dozen press awards, strong reviewer scores and positive feedback from The Sims community, we are thrilled with the success of The Sims 3 launch and the early sales indicate that we have another hit on our hands," said EA Play Label head Rod Humble.

"The volume of items created with The Sims 3 and downloaded online is a testament to how passionate The Sims players are. Itís their world now, we canít wait to see everything players create and share."

According to EA, the iPhone and iPod Touch version of The Sims 3 have seen similar success, reaching the number one spot in the Top Paid App list in the US within 18 hours.

"The game's sales success along with its strong critical acclaim demonstrates that The Sims 3 mobile experience is a worldwide hit with our customers," said EA Mobile VP of worldwide publishing Adam Sussman.

Though previous entries in the series continue to dominate PC sales charts, there was some concern for The Sims 3 when it appeared on piracy channels two weeks prior to release. However, these early sales figures would indicate that the game is off to a solid start.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now