Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

The 3DS: under the hood

Mon 21 Jun 2010 8:51am GMT / 4:51am EDT / 1:51am PDT
Hardware

DMP's PICA200 graphics core drives new Nintendo handheld's visuals

More of the technology behind Nintendo's newly-unveiled 3DS portable has been revealed. The two-screen handheld will be based around Japanese processor developer Digital Media Professional's PICA200 graphics core.

Features such as anti-aliasing and per-pixel lighting are also supported, although the use of OpenGL ES 1.1 would seem to suggest that the chip will be fixed-function rather than programmable.

"Our company has the goal of realizing high quality graphics such as game consoles and glasses-free 3D while keeping power dissipation low," said DMP's CEO Tatsuo Yamamoto. "We are pleased that our long-developed Maestro Technology has been of assistance."

The 3DS has been mooted as having graphical clout almost on a par with the Wii. For more details on how the PICA200 might achieve that, browse the chip's official specifications and the technical analysis of them at sister site Eurogamer.net.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now