Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

TGS: Record number of games on show

Thu 09 Oct 2008 5:18am GMT / 1:18am EDT / 10:18pm PDT
Events

DS, PC and mobile titles dominating at annual Tokyo event

The organisers of the Tokyo Game Show have confirmed a record number of games will be exhibited at this year's event.

A total of 879 titles will be shown, compared to 702 in 2007. The platform base for 18.7 per cent of these will be Nintendo DS, followed by mobile (18 per cent) and PC (17.5 per cent).

The figure for Wii and Xbox 360 is around 7 per cent, compared to 7.8 per cent for PSP and 3.5 per cent for PlayStation 3. The figure for "others" is given as 18.8 per cent - it's not clear whether this refers to multi-platform titles.

Nearly 20 per cent of the games on show are listed as being in the action adventure genre, while 9 per cent are role-playing titles. The next most prolific genres are puzzle and simulation.

In total, 209 exhibitors have signed up for TGS this year, compared to 217 in 2007. However the number of booths is up slightly from 1735 to 1768, another record for the event.

The Tokyo Game Show is taking place at the Makahuri Messe from 9 - 12 October.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now