Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Texas hails videogames contribution

Wed 04 Feb 2009 10:34am GMT / 5:34am EST / 2:34am PST
Politics

US state acknowledges economic impact with Entertainment Software Day

The US state of Texas has labelled February 3 as Entertainment Software Day, recognising the impact that the industry has had on the local economy, with both state legislatures passing resolutions to that effect.

It's the first time the entertainment software industry has been recognised in such a way, and follows a bill passed in 2007 which provides tax rebates to videogame companies in Texas.

"The support of Governor Perry, Senator Deuell and Representative Dukes for the entertainment software industry in Texas is an endorsement of the artistic and economic contributions our industry has made to the state," said Michael D Gallagher, CEO of the ESA. "These lawmakers are helping grow our industry as we work to create new jobs for Texans; boost the state's economy; and help discover new ways computer and videogames can improve the ways Americans live, work and play."

In 2006 the industry was responsible for contributing USD 395 million to the local economy, growing by 16 per cent in the process.

1 Comment

Patrick Kennedy Consultant, Idealpeople

1 0 0.0
Gordon Brown, are you listening?

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now