Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Take-Two signs Digital Extremes for BioShock

Thu 03 Jul 2008 3:15pm GMT / 11:15am EDT / 8:15am PDT
Publishing

Publisher brings in Dark Sector dev for PlayStation 3 expertise

Digital Extremes

Digital Extremes is a privately held company that creates and licenses the Evolution Engine, and creates...

digitalextremes.com

Take-Two has inked a partnership with Digital Extremes to assist with the development of hit first-person shooter BioShock for the PlayStation 3.

"By partnering with Digital Extremes, 2K Games is delivering a fully optimised experience that takes advantage of the PlayStation 3 system hardware," said Christoph Hartmann, president of 2K.

Digital Extremes, who's last project was Dark Sector, will work closely with 2K Marin, 2K Boston and 2K Australia on the PS3 version of the award-winning title.

"When 2K approached us to assist with development on BioShock for the PlayStation 3 system, it was a no-brainer," said James Schmalz, CEO and founder of Digital Extremes.

"You really can't ask for a more exciting, technically impressive world to work in than Rapture, and the incredible knowledge and talent between the 2K studios and our team at Digital Extremes is unprecedented."

The game will be available in October.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now