Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Take-Two drops Champions Online

Thu 18 Dec 2008 9:25am GMT / 4:25am EST / 1:25am PST
Online

Atari now likely to publish the MMO following Cryptic Studios purchase

Atari

Atari group is a global creator, producer and publisher of interactive entertainment for interactive...

atari.com

Take-Two's president Ben Feder has told investors the the company will no longer publish Cryptic's superhero MMO, Champions Online.

Cryptic was acquired by Atari last week, raising the question of whether Take-Two's 2K Games label would be able to go ahead with the release of Champions.

Feder answered that question simply in a conference call yesterday."We no longer intend to publish the MMOG Champions Online due to Atari's acquisition of Cryptic," he said, as reported by GameSpot.

The game is still on course for a release in the second quarter of 2009 for PC and Xbox 360, according to Cryptic's Jack Emmert, and will likely now be published by Atari.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now