Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Stimulus Package breaks Xbox Live records

Thu 08 Apr 2010 8:22am GMT / 4:22am EDT / 1:22am PDT
Online

Modern Warfare 2 map pack sees 1 million downloads in 24 hours

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

The Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 "Stimulus" map pack saw more than 1 million downloads in its first 24 hours of availability, according to publisher Activision.

The downloadable content was released on Xbox Live on March 30, with more than 2.5 million downloads in the first week.

Two map packs were initially announced by Activision, both of which will be 30 day exclusives for the Xbox 360 version of the game.

The map pack contains five new maps for the game, three brand new designs and two based on maps from earlier title Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.

The downloadable content has proven controversial with some fans, in part due to its high cost of 1200 Microsoft Points ($15/£10.28) - more than previous Call of Duty map packs.

There was also considerable server disruption on the day of the pack's release, with some in-game features being affected. Although none of these issues appear to have affected its financial success.

3 Comments

Perry Chen Studying Finance, Boston College

17 0 0.0
There will always be sheep.

Posted:4 years ago

#1
maeeeeeh. 15$ for 3 new maps and 2 1to1 Portations?

Posted:4 years ago

#2

Chris Hayward

34 0 0.0
Ironically if you take away the word "records" from the article's title, then its still a valid headline

Posted:4 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now