Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Stargate TV producer casts doubt on MMO

Mon 06 Apr 2009 11:50am GMT / 7:50am EDT / 4:50am PDT
Development

Brad Wright admits the online title "should be happening by now"

An executive producer of the Stargate TV series has cast serious doubt on the future of the licensed Stargate Worlds MMO, saying that its failure to appear is "a terrible shame".

Brad Wright, who also worked as creative consultant on the game, was asked what the game's status was by the GateWorld fansite.

"We don't know," he said. "It's a shame. If it doesn't happen - and, let's be honest, it should be happening now if it was happening - it's a shame. It's a terrible shame."

Stargate Worlds was in production at a new studio, Cheyenne Mountain Entertainment, funded by a new publisher, FireSky. Both companies were created specifically to undertake this project.

"They had an opportunity and they got our support, and they obviously had significant funding, and it didn't happen," said Wright.

"It's kind of a drag for the fans and the time that we invested - what little of it there really was, in comparison to what they did - was still a shame that it was wasted, because it should have happened."

Stargate Worlds is reportedly still in development, but Cheyenne has had funding problems, being sued for unpaid bills and attacked for not paying its staff.

"Like many start ups, we face the same cash-flow issues that all pre-revenue companies face," the developer said late last year, confirming that it was seeking additional funding.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now