Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Square-Enix sued for US$3.78 million

Tue 05 Sep 2006 12:24pm GMT / 8:24am EDT / 5:24am PDT

Square-Enix is being sued by Soft-World International, a video game and magazine publisher based in Taiwan, for US$3.78 million.

Square-Enix is being sued by Soft-World International, a video game and magazine publisher based in Taiwan, for US$3.78 million.

According to a report on Digitimes, Soft-World alleges that Square-Enix has broken a contract signed in 2004 to distribute one of the Japanese company‚s massively multiplayer online role-playing games (MMORPG) in Taiwan, Macau, Malaysia, Singapore and Hong Kong.

Soft-World claims that Square-Enix has failed to supply the company with the relevant source code for the MMORPG, making distribution of the game problematic. The lawsuit demands the return of a royalty payment of US$3.78 million.

Soft-World International is the largest software distributor in the Chinese market, and currently handles Chinese language versions of popular MMO‚s RF Online, World of Warcraft and Ragnarok Online, amongst others.

Square-Enix has yet to offer comment on the lawsuit.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now