Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Square Enix signs first Western dev deal with Gas Powered Games

Wed 12 Nov 2008 3:33pm GMT / 10:33am EST / 7:33am PST
Business

Final Fantasy house to publish Supreme Commander 2

Square Enix has taken one of its first steps to work with Western developers, by teaming with Gas Powered Games for a sequel to Supreme Commander.

The Final Fantasy publisher has worked exclusively with Japanese developers in the past, and the move also marks the company's first foray in the real-time strategy genre.

"We see great opportunities in European and North American markets, both of which are expected to be maintaining sustainable growth over these coming years," commented Yoichi Wada, president of Square Enix.

"Therefore, it is crucial we create alliances with proven developers such as Gas Powered Games in order to serve these significant markets better by providing products and services in tune with customer tastes."

GPG was founded by designer Chris Taylor and is best known for its Dungeon Siege series. The developer is also working on Demigod.

"Gas Powered Games is an accomplished development house that has demonstrated its ability to successfully create and develop intellectual properties," added John Yamamoto, CEO of Square Enix.

"We are extremely excited to begin working with Gas Powered Games' talented personnel and see this strategic partnership as a significant step in our efforts to bring Square Enix titles to a broader global audience."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now